December 19, 2016

Dr. David Pershing joined the Craig H. Neilsen Foundation’s Board of Directors in 2012.

With more than 30 years of service at the University of Utah (the “U”), Dave was named its 15th President in 2012, serving as the chief executive leading a diverse team of faculty and staff at one of the country’s top research universities. Prior to this, Dave was the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs responsible for approximately 1,000 faculty and 25,000 students in the colleges of the main campus. Starting in 1977 as an Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering, he was named a Presidential Young Investigator by the National Science Foundation in 1984, before becoming the Dean of the College of Engineering in 1987. In 1995, he was named a Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering. Now, as President of the U, he continues his commitment to the undergraduate experience with programs aimed at enriching academic excellence.

As a teacher and researcher, Dave was the recipient of the University of Utah’s Distinguished Teaching and Distinguished Research Awards and the U’s Rosenblatt Prize for Excellence. He has authored more than 80 peer-reviewed publications, won more than 20 research grants totaling approximately $60 million, and earned five patents. He was named Engineering Educator of the Year in 2002 by the Utah Engineering Council and is a winner of the Governor’s Medal for Science and Technology.

Dave holds a PhD from the University of Arizona and a Bachelor of Science degree from Purdue University, both in chemical engineering.